May 10, 2021

Fall Sports Tryouts

Fall Sports Tryouts

 

It's time to plan ahead for the fall sports season. If your child is interested in playing sports for the 2021-2022 upcoming sports season, please CLICK HERE to fill out the sports interest form.

Please complete one form for each child in grades 5-12 interested in MPC athletics. The coach in each sport will alert you to tryout dates and practices using the contact information you supply.

Students age 18+ should CLICK HERE to fill out the 18+ Athletics Participation Form, and parents may CLICK HERE for the grades 5-12 Athletics Participation Permission form.

CLICK HERE for information for rising fifth graders introducing them to middle school sports. The document includes eligible sports in which they may participate as well as tryout dates next year.

Health recommendations and guidelines are constantly being updated, so the information below is subject to change. Please check the MPC Athletics Website for the most up-to-date information regarding tryouts and first practices for each sport.

 

HIGH SCHOOL CHEERLEADING
Coach: Paige Johnson, pjohnson@mtparanschool.com

 

MIDDLE SCHOOL CHEERLEADING
Middle School Competition Cheer: Shelly Ray, sray0306@yahoo.com, and Kate Henderson, khenderson@mtparanschool.com

Fifth/ Sixth Sideline Cheer: Amanda Varner, avarner@mtparanschool.com, and Katherine Pfeiffer, kpfeiffer@mtparanschool.com

 

HIGH SCHOOL CROSS COUNTRY
Coach: Jason Beard, jbeard@mtparanschool.com
Practice begins: August 2, Stadium Track

 

MIDDLE SCHOOL CROSS COUNTRY (includes rising fifth graders)
Coach: LeAnne Galloway, lgalloway@mtparanschool.com
Practice begins: August 11, 3:30-5:00 p.m., Stadium Track

 

MIDDLE AND HIGH SCHOOL FISHING
Coach: Ansley Koza, akoza@mtparanschool.com
Informational Meeting: August 16, 6:30 p.m., Picnic Tables by the Lake
Email fishing@mtparanschool.com to RSVP or if you have preliminary questions.

 

HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL
Coach: Mitch Jordan, mjordan@mtparanschool.com
Acclimation: July 26, Stadium Track
Practice: August 2, Stadium Track

 

MIDDLE SCHOOL FOOTBALL
Seventh/Eighth-Grade Team: Coach Greg Phillips, gphillips@mtparanschool.com
Acclimation: August 11, 3:30-5:30 p.m., Stadium Track (NOTE- CHANGED TO Aug. 11)
Practice: August 16, 3:30-5:30 p.m., Stadium Track

Fifth/Sixth-Grade Team Coach: Michael Stallings, michael.stallings@homestarfc.com
Acclimation: August 11, 5:00-7:00 p.m., Stadium Track (NOTE- CHANGED TO Aug. 11)
Practice: August 16, 5:00-7:00 p.m., Stadium Track

 

JV AND VARSITY HIGH SCHOOL SOFTBALL
Coach: Kristy Hubbard, khubbard@mtparanschool.com
Tryouts: May 12-14, 4:00-6:00 p.m., Softball Field

 

MIDDLE SCHOOL SOFTBALL
Coach: Viola Lussier, vlussier@mtparanschool.com
Tryouts: May 18, 3:30-5:00 p.m., Softball Field

 

JV AND VARSITY HIGH SCHOOL VOLLEYBALL
Coach: Selina Chancy, schancy@mtparanschool.com
Tryouts: May 17-20, 3:30-5:45 p.m., Hughes Gymnasium

 

MIDDLE SCHOOL VOLLEYBALL
Coach: Paul Armstrong, armstrong915@comcast.net
Tryouts: May 12-14, 3:30-5:00 p.m., Hughes Gymnasium


Announcements

July 12 - Lower School New Family Meeting, 7:00 p.m.

July 14 - Lower School New Family Game Night, 6:30-7:30 p.m.

July 14 - Preschool/TK New Family Play Day, 6:30-7:15 p.m.

Sewell Cottage

July 14 - Preschool/TK New Family Play Day, 6:30-7:15 p.m.

Sewell Cottage

July 26-27 - High School Parking Assignments

July 30 - Senior Spots Painting Day

August 1 - PMI UP, 11:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.

New Student Orientation, Grades 10-12
Murray Innovation Center, Graham Commons

August 1 - PMI UP, 11:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.

New Student Orientation, Grades 10-12
Murray Innovation Center, Graham Commons

August 5 - K-Day, Lower School 101, Middle School 101, High School 101

August 5 - High School Social, 5:00-6:00 p.m.

Dozier Circle

August 5 - High School Social, 5:00-6:00 p.m.

Dozier Circle

August 8 - Preschool/TK Meet and Greet, 1:00 p.m.

August 9 - Back-2-School Night, 3:30-6:30 p.m.

August 11 - First Day of School, 7:50 a.m.

August 15 - Preschool/TK and Lower School Parent Orientation, 5:30 p.m.

August 16-17 - Picture Day

August 16 - High School Parent Orientation, 6:00 p.m.

August 18 - Middle School Parent Orientation, 6:00 p.m.

August 19 - Middle School Spiritual Emphasis House Day

August 22-23 - Lower School CoGAT Testing

August 29-September 1 - MAP Growth Testing

Lower and Middle School Students

August 29-September 1 - MAP Growth Testing

Lower and Middle School Students

August 29 - Ask the Experts, 6:00 p.m.

Visit with college representatives

August 29 - Ask the Experts, 6:00 p.m.

Visit with college representatives

August 30 - Picture Make-up Day

September 5 - Labor Day Holiday, No School

September 6/7-9 - High School Retreat

September 22-23 - Parent-Teacher Conference Days, Grades PK-8

Students in grades PK-8 do not attend classes. High school students DO attend classes.

September 22-23 - Parent-Teacher Conference Days, Grades PK-8

Students in grades PK-8 do not attend classes. High school students DO attend classes.

September 26-27 - Fall Break, No School

Weekly Word News